Customer Service Award

Awarded to a Finance and Administration employee who is an example to others by providing continual oustanding customer service to our customers-coworkers, supervisors, students, faculty, staff or the public. This person goes above and beyond the call of duty to meet custumers needs.

Standing next to Tim Burgess is Christine Eberhart of Parking Services, who was the winner of the 2011 Customer Service Merit Award. She is joined by fellow finalists Terri Akers of the Accounting Department, Robert Irwin of Food Services and Christine Long of Directory Assistance. The winner in each category received an engraved crystal bowl.

Newcomer Award

Awarded to a Finance and Administration employee who, despite lack of time on the job, has significantly contributed to the organizational mission and shown outstanding initiative, reliability and dedication to the University. (Nominees must have less than two years of continuous service with UGA.)

Derek Schuber of the Architects Office was named the winner of the Newcomer Merit Award. To his left are the other finalists: Scott Cohenour of Food Services, Kandice Mitchell of the Payroll Department and Jessica Taylor of Accounts Payable.

Tough Dawg Award

Awarded to a Finance and Administration employee who has endured extraordinarily difficult workplace circumstances (overcoming obstacles or challenges) with grace, good humor, patience and exemplary job performance.


Annette Evans of the Procurement Office was honored with the Tough Dawg Merit Award. She is shown standing next to Tim Burgess and was joined onstage by her fellow finalists: Sandra Behr of Food Services, Paul Cassilly of the Architects Office and Gina Roberts of the Budget Department.

Unsung Hero Award

Awarded to a Finance and Administration employee who works hard and does the job well, but seldom, if ever, is recognized publicly for his or her work. This person is continually both a real benefit to coworkers and a stable, dependable resource for Finance and Administration as a whole.


Rod Platt of the Physical Plant’s Support Services Department was named the winner of the Unsung Hero Merit Award. Unfortunately, he was unable to attend the ceremony and was presented with his award at a later date. Standing next to Tim Burgess are the other three finalists: Tamara Dillard of Food Services, Kathy Webb of the Budget Division and Casey Westbrooks of the Physical Plant’s Building A/C Systems Shop. All 16 merit award finalists and employees with 30 or more years of service were special guests at a luncheon hosted by Senior Vice President Tim Burgess.


Year Earned: